Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee

​The Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee (Committee) has fourteen (14) members who are appointed by the Supreme Court. The Committee is charged with investigating all reports of activities which may constitute the unauthorized practice of law. The Committee has the authority to hold hearings to determine whether or not the charges are substantiated. The Committee also has the authority to adopt, amend, and rescind any rules and regulations​ deemed necessary to carry out committee's duties.

Members serve for three (3) years and have a two (2) term limit. However, the term of the Clerk of the Supreme Court rules and regulations.


Timothy J. Morgan, Esquire, Chair
Patrick C. Barry, Esquire
Meridith A. Benoit, Esquire
Rebecca F. Clarke, Esquire
Jodi M. Gladstone, Esquire
Christopher D. Graham, Esquire
Keith B. Kyle, Esquire
Stephen MacGillivray, Esquire
Mary Welsh McBurney, Esquire
Colonel Stephen McCartney, Public Member
Heather A. Pierce, Esquire
Leticia Pimental, Esquire
​Laura Ruzzo Reale, Esquire
Thomas M. Bergeron, Esquire, Legal Counsel​​


Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee
c/o Supreme Court Clerk's Office
250 Benefit Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 222-3272​