Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal

A Message from Chief Magistrate Domenic A. DiSandro III

Welcome to the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal homepage. The Traffic Tribunal is part of the Rhode Island unified court system and is comprised of eight (8) judicial officers, which include a Chief Magistrate, an Administrative Magistrate, two (2) Associate Judges, and four (4) Magistrates.

The Traffic Tribunal was created by the Rhode Island General Assembly in July 1999 to replace the former Administrative Adjudication Court. In 2007, the Traffic Tribunal was made a standalone and independent court operating under the direction of the Chief Magistrate. The Traffic Tribunal has original jurisdiction over civil traffic offenses committed in Rhode Island, including breathalyzer refusals. Further, the Traffic Tribunal has authority over certain Department of Environmental Management offenses. The Traffic Tribunal has oversight responsibilities and concurrent jurisdiction with the Municipal Courts for lesser traffic offenses.

The Traffic Tribunal operates several daily calendars including arraignments, trials, motions, and citation (collections) cases. The court also has an Appeals Division which processes Traffic Tribunal, Municipal Court, and Division of Motor Vehicle appeals.

The website provides valuable information to assist you in your interactions with our court. If you require additional information, please feel free to contact the Information Line at (401) 275-2700, my office at (401) 275-2801, or the Administrator office at (401) 275-2816.

State and Municipal Court Compact (Title 8, Chapter 18)
Traffic Tribunal (Title 8, Chapter 8.2)