

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND JUDICIARY

SUPERIOR COURT

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Question: Is there a cost to filing a petition?

Answer: Yes, all petitions require a \$20.00 filling fee along with a \$20.75 electronic filing

fee, for a total of \$40.75. Appeals to the Appellate Division of the court require a \$25.00 filing fee along with a \$20.7 electronic filing fee, for a total \$45.75. The payments of all fees should be made payable to Administrator, Workers'

Compensation Court.

Question: Where are you located? How do I get there?

Answer: The clerk's office is located on the third floor and the courtrooms are located on

the fourth floor of the Garrahy Judicial Complex, One Dorrance Plaza, Providence,

Rhode Island.

DRIVING DIRECTIONS FROM ROUTE 95N or 95S

Exit 22A (Down City – Memorial Boulevard)

Follow Memorial Boulevard until the road turns into Dyer Street. Take a right onto

Clifford Street. The Garrahy Judicial Complex will be straight ahead and to the

right.

Question: What are your hours of operation?

Answer: The court's hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Question: Do I need an attorney to proceed before the court?

Answer: An attorney is not necessary but is recommended. A referral can be obtained

through the Rhode Island Bar Association (401) 421-5740.

Question: Once my petition is filed how long before my court date?

Answer: You will receive a pretrial notice for a hearing approximately twenty-one (21) days

from the date of filing.

Question: Can I speak with a judicial officer about my case?

Answer: No, all correspondence should be made through your attorney.

Question: What if I cannot make my court date?

Answer: Contact your attorney's office. If you do not have attorney, contact the clerk's office

(401) 458-5000.

Question: What if I have questions about my rights under the Rhode Island Workers'

Compensation laws?

Answer: Contact the Department of Labor and Training - Division of Workers'

Compensation at (401) 462-8100.

Question: What if I need copies of documents in my Workers' Compensation Court file?

Answer: Your file is a public record and can be viewed during the court's hours of operation.

Copies can be obtained for a fee of fifteen cents (\$.15) per page.

Question: How can I search for a business?

Answer: You can search for a business on the Secretary of State's website at

https://business.sos.ri.gov/CorpWeb/CorpSearch/CorpSearch.aspx.

Question: How can I find out if an employer has Workers' Compensation Insurance

coverage?

Answer: You can search for a business on the Department of Labor and Training's website

at the following link:

https://www.ewcv.com/cvs/?ref=http:%2F%2Fwww.dlt.ri.gov%2Fwc%2Ffraud

coverage.htm