
 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION 
TO BE LICENSED AS A CONSTABLE 

 
The following documentation must be filed with the 
 

Office of Chief Judge  
  Rhode Island District Court 

One Dorrance Plaza 
Providence, RI 02903: 

 
1. Application 
2. Certified BCI report obtained from the Office of Attorney General. 
3. Letters from two (2) attorneys certifying that you are a proper 

candidate for being licensed as a constable. 
4. Letter from a constable who is willing to train you.  This constable 

must be in good standing and have had full powers with the Rhode 
Island District Court for more than 10 years 

 
 An application will not be considered unless all of the above-

mentioned documents are submitted as a package. 
 
The entire package will be presented to the Chief Judge for review.  If 
approved, the applicant may be permitted to begin the training period. 
 
Once training is completed, the supervising constable must submit to 
the Chief Judge a letter certifying completion of training. 
 
A written exam will be scheduled and upon satisfactory results, an 
appointment will be made to appear before the Constables’ Board.  The 
Board will forward either an approval or rejection to the Chief Judge.   
 
The Chief Judge of the District Court will then review the file and either 
grant or deny licensing.  If granted, a date will be scheduled for 
swearing in.  At that time, you will be required to file a bond in the 
amount of $5,000.00.  Also, a fee of $200.00 will be required.  This is an 
annual renewal fee.  A photo ID will be taken at this time. 
 
Should you have any questions regarding this process, please  
contact:  
 

Donna DiPalma, Administrative Clerk 
458-5215 
 
 

 
RHODE ISLAND DISTRICT COURT 



APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT AS CONSTABLE 
 
This application must be supported by letters from two licensed attorneys for whom the 
applicant has served or intends to serve process. 
 
I hereby make application for appointment as a Constable with power to serve certain civil 
process in the District Court as delivered in § 45-16-4.1 and § 45-16-4.3 of the General Laws of 
the State of Rhode Island. 
 
NAME:                ____________________________________________________ 
                 ( last)   (first)   (middle) 
 
DATE OF BIRTH:   _____/______/______ 
 
HOME ADDRESS:    ____________________________________________________ 
      (number)   (street) 
 
     _______________________     ___RI______ ____________ 
      (city/town)        (zip) 
  
MAILING ADDRESS: ________________________________________________ 
(if different)      (number)   (street) 
 
     _______________________     ___RI______ ____________ 
      (city/town)        (zip) 
 
EMAIL ADDRESS:   _____________________________________________________ 
    
TELEPHONE: _______________     _______________    _______________ 
        (home)      (cell)      (fax) 
 
OCCUPATION: ______________________________________________________ 
 
I hereby certify that the above information is accurate.  I further agree that, if 
licensed, I will abide by the rules and regulations as promulgated by the Chief Judge 
of the District Court as provided for in § 8-8-12(j) of the Rhode Island General Laws. 
 
___________________   ____________________________________ 
 (date)      (signature) 
 
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE 

 
DATE FILED   ____________________ LETTERS RECEIVED   _____________________ 
FEE PAID          ____________________   INVESTIGATION   _________________________ 
LICENSED ISSUED  _______________   LICENSE NUMBER   _______________________ 



  
 


