
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
 

STATE LAW LIBRARY 
 

 
Question:  What are the library hours? 
 
Answer: The library is open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday 

and 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on Saturdays.  During the summer the library 
closes at 4:30 pm. and noon on Saturdays.  Please check the calendar for 
Saturday closings  for holidays and during the summer.  The library has 
four (4) satellite libraries located in the four county courthouses (Garrahy, 
Kent, Washington, and Newport).  The hours in the county libraries follow 
the courthouse schedules and are not open on Saturdays.  

 
 
Question: Where can I park? 
 
Answer: Parking in Providence and Newport is limited to on street parking and fee 

based parking garages.  Free parking is available at Kent and Washington 
counties. 

 
 
Question: Is the library open to the public? 
 
Answer: Yes, the library is supported by public funds and is open to all.  However, 

materials circulate only to the bench, the bar, and to self-represented 
litigants with a pending case in the Rhode Island courts.  Any person 
holding a valid HELIN library card may request materials through the 
HELIN system.  

 

Question: What is the HELIN? 
 
Answer: HELIN is a consortium of research libraries throughout the state.  HELIN 

members can access and borrow from participating members.  These 
members include Brown University, University of Rhode Island, Rhode 
Island College, Johnson & Wales University, Bryant University, Salve 
Regina University, and others. Material found in the HELIN catalog and 
designated “available” can be requested by a registered borrower and the 
material can be picked up at any HELIN location, including the State Law 
Library.  

 

 

 



 

Question: How long do materials circulate? 
 
Answer: The general rule is that materials circulate for 14 days, except for LOAN 

designated materials that circulate for 28 days. 
 

Question: Can I renew materials? 
 
Answer: Materials can be renewed for an additional 14 / 28 days.  

 

Question: What if the material I need is not in the HELIN Catalog? 
 
Answer: Materials not available in the HELIN catalog can be requested by 

registered borrowers through Interlibrary Loan.  There is an occasional fee 
for this service imposed by the lending library.  The library has an 
agreement to share with a number of libraries, and charges for this service 
are rare. 

 

Question: What materials circulate? 
 
Answer: The Rhode Island State Law Library is primarily a research library and as 

such, many of the materials do not circulate.  These include reporters, 
digests, statutes, etc.  Treatises covering a wide variety of legal issues do 
circulate; however, they are subject to recall if needed by a member of the 
courts or the practicing bar.  We ask your cooperation with this generous 
policy and promptly return recalled items. 

 

Question: Is there photocopying and printing? 
 
Answer: Coin operated photocopies, printers, and vendor card machines are 

available in each of the libraries.  Coins, dollar bills, and copy cards, which 
can be purchased at the libraries for $5.00, can be used at these 
machines.   Please bring a five dollar bill or five one dollar bills with you in 
order to purchase a card.  Once a card is purchased, any amount can be 
added to it.  

 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
Question: Is Reference Service available? 
 
Answer: Reference service is available Monday through Friday at the main library, 

on Wednesdays in Kent County, and on alternate Wednesdays in Newport 
and Washington Counties.  Saturdays have limited reference service 
available.  Garrahy Judicial Complex has reference staff available daily 
except Wednesdays and Thursday afternoons.    

 
 
Question: Can the library provide legal advice? 
 
Answer: No. State Law Library staff members are not licensed attorneys and 

therefore cannot give legal advice or interpret the law, nor should any 
response given be construed or interpreted as legal advice. 

 
 
Question: Are Internet and computer services available? 
 
Answer: All the libraries, both the main library and counties, have public access 

computers.  The main library offers wireless and wired service on eleven 
(11) workstations.  Personal laptops can be brought to the library, but due 
to security issues, cannot be used to access the Internet and/or access 
office networks.     

 
 
Question: What does the library have access to? 
 
Answer: The library subscribes to a number of electronic databases.  A full listing of 

these can be found on this website.  Among the databases is Public 
Access Westlaw which is offered at the main library, and Lexis is offered 
at the main library and at all the county libraries as well.  

 
 
Question: How are the databases be accessed? 
 
Answer: Due to contractual obligations and copyright restrictions, all databases 

must be used within the court network.  Some require a password.   
Please ask at the circulation desk to sign on these databases.  Other 
databases allow seamless access throughout the network.   

 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
Question: Does the library provide instruction? 
 
Answer: Yes, library staff will be happy to provide instruction on accessing and 

maximizing functionality on databases.  Cases and statutes can be 
retrieved, shepardized, and results can be printed on our coin operated 
public printers  

 
 
 
 


